• Juanjo Mena © Michal Novak Juanjo Mena © Michal Novak
  • Arabella Steinbacher © Peter Rigaud Arabella Steinbacher © Peter Rigaud

Philharmonie im Kulturpalast
39 | 34 | 29 | 23 | 18 €

Schuberts Big Symphonies

The famous C major symphony combines all of Schubert's craft. Within four extensive movements the whole of Schubert's richness and compository art can be observed. The posthumous debut of his work, more than ten years after its creation, seemed like pure revelation. The breathtaking melodics, the shining orchestral work, the formal souvereignity remained unchallenged over the course of the 19th century. The works of Mozart and Haydn belong to the foundations of Schubert's style and influenced his work profoundly. The so called mourning symphony by Haydn is a passionate piece that seems to be almost romantic in some parts. Mozart's shining violin concert KV 218 possesses a smooth freedom of arrangement that Schubert managed to follow up on.

Duration: 2h (incl. break)

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Symphony No. 44 in E minor (1772)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218 (1775)
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 "The Great" (1825)

Juanjo Mena | Conductor
Arabella Steinbacher | Violin
Dresdner Philharmonie